The Author Spot: Mark Manalang

I have featured many topics ranging from Music, Artist, Games, Movies and other random interest.
Today, I would like to feature
The first of many to come.

The  Author Spot light!

Today’s pick for the Month of April
CRIME FICTION.

We don’t often hear news about crime fiction stories in the local market or on eBooks that are Written by Filipino Authors.

If ever there would be, they would most likely either be underground or  Only available for a limited time.

Ladies and gentlemen,

Allow me to introduce to you the
First interview and feature from us here at Gpicks!
News Writer, Crime Novelist and
Owner and Blogger of Unlimited Grub Grabs

image

Mr. Mark Manalang,

Author of Seven Day Detective and
I saw mommy kissing Santa Claus

The spotlight:

Gpicks: What type of stories and genre do you write about?

Mark Manalang: Nowadays I concentrate on writing journalism (non-fiction) and crime fiction, though I intend to resume making poetry. In the mornings, I write news stories for my day job at TV5, and I devote the rest of the day to studying the stories I intend to write. I’ve also started studying romance writing.

Gpicks:   What can your readers expect from the stories you are writing this year?
Mark Manalang: Back in December last year, I launched my first two crime stories, “The Seven-Day Detective” and “I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus”, on e-book format at the Buqo online store. I also launched a third story, “Sampaguita”, which is part of the “What We Hide” bundle of #HeistClub this February. Then there’s my Wattpad account, which I’m still maintaining.
I intend to write sequels for “The Seven-Day Detective” and “Sampaguita” this year. With these, expect more action-packed, suspenseful, and dramatic stories of rising from despair, restoring innocence, seeking justice, and hope.
Of course, skill-wise, I resolve to improve more and more in my craft.

Gpicks:   A 2016 forecast on writing?
Mark Manalang: I hope we crime writers could grab a piece of the spotlight this year, probably less . Romance is still on the rise, though we expect newer variations of the “boy-meets-girl” formula. “Hugot”-based literature will make it big too, though I wonder how long it can maintain its momentum, given the overuse of “hugot” lines in social media.

Gpicks:  A message to aspiring writers.
Mark Manalang: There’s no single correct piece of advice for aspiring writers, but this one from Snoopy stays true: “It takes courage to sail in uncharted waters.” That means, just write. Learn and explore the genres you’re interested in. Bleed (read: write freely) before your laptop or journal, just like Ernest Hemingway says. Read and write a lot; it’s how you exercise your writing muscle. Ask as many people as you can for help, even long after you’ve finished your first draft. When you’re done and published, don’t stop and write on.
Also, drink lots of water, exercise and stretch a bit, and don’t skip meals. You need to stay healthy since you’re sitting for long periods.

Gpicks:   A message to your supporters.
Mark Manalang: All I can offer you is my sincere gratitude for believing in me, and for reading my works. I wish I knew if I’ve improved, or if I’m doing what I’m doing correctly, but the fact that you watch out for me despite the lack of reviews and thrown tomatoes is enough to warrant my thanks. Yeah, I’m not good with expressing gratitude.

Gpicks:  Lastly, bits and teasers you might want to share!
Mark Manalang: If things go well, I might be able to complete a romance story for publishing. For now, all I can say is that it’s about a guy who wants to write a romance novel. There may be others that I might find time to write.

The Novel Feature:

image

“Insp. Gene Bello is no stranger to rape cases, or speedy investigations. As a cadet, he was known as ‘The Seven-Day Detective’, having solved a serial rape incident in seven days. So when an NBI official asked him to handle a similar case, he was ready to take on the job… or so he thought. The case: a serial rapist targeting call center agents from Bonifacio Global City.
Luck is on Gene’s side, though. Four PUV drivers plying the EDSA-BGC routes have seen and interacted with the fifth victim. Each of them knew her well. Each of them, perhaps all of them, may hold the key to stop the next attack and find the suspect before he strikes again. But they have to hurry… All they have is seven days.”

Contact Info:

Facebook Page:    https://web.facebook.com/Unlimited-Grub-Grabs-205718846136461/

Official website: http://unlimitedgrubgrabs.com/

twitter:  https://twitter.com/mtjmanalang

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/unlimitedgrubgrabs/

