Vessel 2 器 -Event Recap

The Shared Experience: A Recap of the event last February 25, 2017

 During the performance of Vessel 2 器 , A memorable quote from Max Heindel crossed my mind. In his words he said “Music is the soul of language.”

I thought about the words for a moment, and then I said to myself:

I suppose, it doesn’t matter whether there are words or no words that accompanies tunes or melodies. I think the soul understands the intention that it brings to whoever listens to the beat.

. Now, truthfully I had never been to the TIU Theater before, and all I knew that night was there would be a  group of Japanese Drum Artists that will be performing.

Until the Adinkra Lumads Djembe Community began to play for the opening act that I began understand the value of the event that was taking place. I’m not a 100% sure if I could find the right words to explain and convey what there should be said. So, I decided to hunt for better video qualities to share. Fortunately,  The Film Traveler was able to capture the experience.

Here is a video of the opening act by Adinkra Lumads Djembe Community:

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FTheFilmTraveler%2Fvideos%2F1320225328060994%2F&show_text=1&width=560

Personal Thoughts: I’ve always been a fan of our local music but, I’ve never been able to find a group on YouTube that is active on posting or sharing their music online. If it weren’t for this event, I would have never been able to discover them. Honestly, I felt proud watching them and honored to an extent that I felt that there would not be enough words to describe the pride I felt to be a Filipina. I enjoyed their performance and I was amazed by the humor and how they were able to carry the audience. I don’t know much about them yet, but I’m definitely sure that I’ll be getting to know more about them and their music in the future. Once again, Kudos to this amazing group! It was a pleasure to be part of the audience and it was an amazing experience how you guys were able to make everyone interact with you during the performance. I hope to see you guys again soon and here your music once more!

but for now, I have to get back to the main topic.

After the performance, they were then later followed by the main performers of the evening.

16826084_581768278683324_6387612026775824410_o

(photos grabbed from Mj Alcarez‎)

The Wadaiko “Utsuwa” Group Performers

  • KOJIRO
  • Marie Ikura
  • Ayumi Tsuji
  • Tomoko Fukushima
  • Hazuki Shinkai

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FTheFilmTraveler%2Fvideos%2F1320226858060841%2F&show_text=1&width=560

If you’ve enjoyed watching the video. Please do follow the #TheFilmTraveler if your interested to find out more interesting videos from them.

Personal Thoughts:  This was the opening performance of the group, and by just watching them as they beat their bachis passionately, you can already feel how much they wanted to convey their emotions towards their audience. I’ve been studying the Japanese Culture for a while now, and I must say this was a one of a kind experience for someone like me who has not yet been able to visit Japan. There is much richness in their culture as we have with our own and this experience definitely portrays their passionate display through their Music and Art.

Now, I may not be able to thoroughly share a complete detail event of the performances but, I’m glad that I was able to share to you all this experience. I think, perhaps in the future. I may be discussing more about Taiko, the japanese culture, our culture through music and the likes but, for now… I suppose I may need to wait for a couple of days or weeks for this to sink into me further, before I can write anything with substantial research and thorough explanation. In the mean time, I do hope you enjoyed watching these compiled videos.

To close my entry, here is a video of the collaborative performance between the Adinkra Lumads Djembe Community and The Wadaiko “Utsuwa” Group Performers:

See also related article: My Trending Stories: VESSEL 2 器 -JAPANESE DRUM ASSEMBLY-

