Summer Feels: Featuring Kate Sebastian (Part 1)

Hi everyone!

So today, I’m part of the blog tour for the Summer Feels: A #Romanceclass Anthology. Right now, I’m trying to avoid a mass of wall text in this article and thus decided to post a 2 part feature. In this post, I’ll be posting about my interview with Author Kate Sebastian and then later on the second part will be the blurb/excerpt from her story.

In the meantime, please enjoy reading the article post.  Cheers!


 Summer Feels: A #romanceclass Anthology 


Magsi:  To Start, I sent a series of questions to Author Kate Sebastian and this was her response.
Kate Sebastian:
First off, I want to start by saying thanks for hosting me on your blog today! Editing and writing for Summer Feels: A #romanceclass Anthology was both harder and more enjoyable than I expected, but the response we’ve received in the past couple of weeks or so, since the launch, has been completely overwhelming. And I am so proud of and happy for my fellow authors in the anthology—I hope you get to check them out in the future as well!
Now, on to your questions:
Mags: Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?
Kate Sebastian:
    My story is told from the point of view of the female protagonist,  so I’ll consider her my main character. If they certified homebody-ism, Hilary Santos would be a card-carrying member of the club. She would much rather stay home and read or watch TV than do, well, just about anything else. In fact, she works at home as a website designer. But when we meet her, she’s on a vacation that’s all about fun, sun, and thrills—and there are few travelers more reluctant than Hilary! She’s only doing this because the father she adored has died, and he left her a bequest in his will and a request along with it: to go on an adventure. He even provided the money for it. And, knowing that wouldn’t be enough, recruited a friend to apply a guilt trip. So Hilary winds up touring southern Cebu with a volunteer tour guide who just happens to have a big heart and a superior set of abs. The question is whether she’ll embrace the experience or treat it as an obligatory adventure taken on behalf of a father who only wanted what’s best for her.
Mags: What genre are your books?
Kate Sebastian: Everything that Kate Sebastian has written thus far has been steamy romance. And I refer myself in the third person here because I am not always Kate Sebastian, and while writing under a different name, I do write in other genres!
Mags:  What draws you to this genre?
Kate Sebastian:  Honestly, I read a ton of romance, and I always enjoy it a little better when a judicious amount of steam is applied to the pages. So I’d say that I write what I love to read. Also, because there are many things I love to read, I will say that a lot of what has pushed me to publish in this genre is the community. The folks who power #romanceclass, whether as readers or as writers, are such a supportive, inclusive bunch, it’s hard not to be inspired!
Mags:  Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead character from your most recent book?
Kate Sebastian: If we’re talking about the actors who’ve been dubbed #romanceclass “professors,” I’d definitely want Gahoates (or is it RaGio?)! That’s Rachel Coates for Hilary Santos and Gio Gahol for Roman Villaflor, the love interest. Apart from the fact that I just love them, I think Rachel would be great at depicting Hilary’s awkwardness and fear-driven anger, while Gio would match Roman’s totally chill approach to the experiences Hilary is sure will kill her.
Mags: Where do the ideas come from?
Kate Sebastian: Truth be told, a lot of ideas come from experiences and conversations I’ve had. In this particular case, I’ve actually had a go at the adventures my characters experience in my story. But this was a last-minute change in story! I’d written another story for the anthology (which I may release somewhere else someday), but found myself penning this one on the very day the stories were due to be sent in. And I liked the feel and the pacing of this one better for this particular anthology, so I ran with it. One of the things I’m learning about writing and about life in general is that sometimes things come together at the right time for the right people. Write when the inspiration strikes, but publish when you’re ready. And this story just felt ready.
Mags: Do you work with an outline or plot or do you prefer to just see where an idea takes you?
Kate Sebastian:  I’m not really much of a pantser when it comes to writing. I like to have at least a loose outline to work with. With long novels, I outline the heck out of my stories. With shorter stories like this one, I will have ideas about what needs to happen and when in the story, let those ideas percolate in my brain for a while (in this case, a few days), then sit down and write it out. I find that once the ideas are allowed to “brew,” the writing comes more easily. In this case, I pounded out my first draft in a single sitting, proofed it later that day, then had it beta read that evening. I made minor revisions in the wee small hours of the morning, and then let it sit while I reviewed the other submissions for the anthology.
Mags: Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books?

Kate Sebastian:  I’m not sure I’d be the best person to talk about book marketing in general, but I can definitely talk about marketing the Summer Feels anthology. The marketing of this book was done through something I like to call educated experimentation. Ugh, that sound so snooty! But really all it means is that I did a lot of research into author marketplaces and marketing strategies. I attended a class on author marketing taught by #romanceclass author Ana Tejano, who compiled the first #romanceclass anthology last year, which I also joined, and I learned lots!

I thought about how things happened to and for me and other authors. I read a ton of blogs and articles written by people in the industry, and then I took a chance. I’m actually the majority investor in this anthology, and two other authors threw their honey in my pot (and doesn’t that sound lewd?). We wanted to find a way so we would get our money back and earn a little on top of that, but more, we wanted to find a way to help authors earn and gain much more exposure. We channeled the spirit of #BetterTogether, and honestly, we just believed the heck out of this anthology. And, knock on wood, we’re doing pretty well, thanks to the efforts of everyone who contributed to the anthology—because all the authors are also participating in the marketing efforts for this anthology. So in this case, I’d probably say, put your money where your mouth is, keep the geevies and discard the beevies, research best methods and find the ones that might fit what you want to achieve, then work your butt off.

Mags: How can readers discover more about you and your work?
For official stuff, probably my website, www.katesebastian.com, is the best way to go. But if anyone just wants to get in touch, trade banter, share feelings, or just hang out online, I’d say, let’s connect on Twitter. @ImKateSebastian. It’s nice to meet you. Tell me about yourself!
More links below:
Blog: http://katesebastian.com/category/news/ (Not sure if this counts!)
Instagram: http://www.twitter.com/Kate.Sebastian
LinkedIn: (none)
Pinterest: (none)
Mags: Please see  Summer Feels: Featuring Kate Sebastian (Part 2)
One thought on “Summer Feels: Featuring Kate Sebastian (Part 1)

  1. Reblogged this on Michael Recto and commented:
    Since I’ll be writing romance stories in the future. I figured to share this post from a friend. Hopefully you guys will find it interesting to read as well. Cheers!

Comments are closed.