How comic writing changed the way I write my stories

2017-08-07 (1)

How do I begin to share the experience?

It isn’t something that I could just completely construct a whole bunch of words that would lead into a meaningful paragraph. I think it would only lead into a somewhat puzzle-like state, where in you’d end up trying to figure out just what it was really about that I wanted to share.

Right now, I think I’ve reached a point where I am somehow more comfortable with the way I share my words online compared to last year, and so this is why I’ve decided to enumerate the experience instead.


I think a brief summary of what I used to do before I started comic writing. Here are a few things you might want to read about:

  1. Writing between two different languages:

People would often remind me how difficult it is to write, even more so whenever it is about writing  in English and Tagalog .

Be it in terms of expressing themselves academically or in a personal note.

Honestly, I never really thought about how difficult it was– and it isn’t because I feel overly confident in terms of usage but merely because, using these languages in any form was a medium that was fascinating to learn on my that it almost gave the impression that writing in these languages came to me as if it was something automatic.

I suppose, this is probably why I feel like it was a skill that I  may have taken for granted. (for such a time–)

I say this because, some people would often praise me by the way I hop back and forth in writing between these two languages.

I mean, I don’t watch television often, nor do I read books as much as the others do, or let alone engage in conversations with other people who uses the languages that I have been practicing throughout years. Yet, somehow I managed to squirm my way through writing in a manner where it does not sound too complicated or trying hard to bridge across what I want to say.

In truth however, there was always that one factor in my mind where I never had the sense of confidence in my writing.  It may come off as a shock to others who would read this, but it is true.

2.  About Storytelling

I loved the idea of writing about my dreams. The imagination that comes along with the stories that I write about the “what if’s” scenarios of the choices that I did not take. However, I rarely ever finished the stories that I used to write. I think, it has become a bad habit throughout the years, that at one point in my life. Writing in general was something I never truly cared enough to read what I write.

but, I suppose keeping a journal helped me managed to at least build a decent way of communicating through words with myself that it became a good ground for practice.

Now that you’ve read the way I used to think about writing and how I managed to reach where I am right now. I think it would be best to share a roughly bullet-type of a list to share what changed since I started comic writing.

Here are a few of the reasons that I’ve realized since then:

  • The first entry I wrote in this entry was about writing in two different languages. Like I said prior to this, let me stress this out here. I never had any form of formal practice or habit to bank upon writing. I just merely liked the idea and concept of different words between both languages. However, when I began to write stories for comics. I think everything slowly came into focus. I don’t want to sound cocky or any of that sort, I just want to share how much good it has done to me when I began to write my stories this way. Writing isn’t a walk in the park– like all forms of writing. It has its own complications. When you write a story and think that it is a good story, I think the person who writes it should believe in whatever they have prepared in mind. However, it is also important to realize that when you write a script be it for comics or of any sort of way you feel best to present it. It pays a great deal to actually research the details that you want to focus upon. Comic writing has taught me this much.  The amount of detail a writer exerts into comics is insane. I never thought of writing in this way. Its pretty different from when I was writing novels. I mean, I suppose people learn in their own time and through different ways– but, comic writing sort of leveled me up into a complete different writer in just three weeks.

  • When I shared to you about Storytelling– What I meant was not just about imagination or basing it from a novel that you’ve read.  fan fiction of any sort. Comic writing has this amazing element that allows you to learn and communicate eye movements, scenarios that usually you’d find when you draw storyboards in a way that is different from script writing. Everything has to be detailed in a very intense manner. The approach in comic writing is a different way of managing world building, story structure and the likes.

I am not an expert in writing. I believe language is constantly evolving, and there are various ways for people to interpret the way we write, and our words would bridge across to the right people who would be able to read in between the lines. However, if you are one of the many aspiring writers who would want to find out your flaws in writing in just a few weeks time. I think comic writing is a great way to find your voice in writing. I think this is the reason why I’m sharing this now.

I wanted the people who need a little boost in their writing to step up their game. Especially if they feel at lost for words on how to structure their stories.Sometimes, the stories you write does not mean its good or you’re hitting writers block but, it is more about the way you approach your writing that is doing that to your story.

It took me awhile to realize where I was good at or where I was lacking. I think I have comic writing to do that. Although, it is true that even in this entry, I may still feel a bit insecure about the way I had written this much, however I hope that I was at least able to bridge across what I wanted to share.

And so, this is why I’ll be ending this entry here.

